Skip to Content

The Michigan Secretary of State Eliminates Drivers Responsibility Fees for Some Offenses

September 30, 2012 Criminal Law and Procedure

Beginning on October 1, 2012, drivers will no longer have to pay driver responsibility fees to the Michigan Secretary of State for certain offenses. Fees for many of the more serious traffic offenses, such as drinking and driving and reckless driving, remain in place.

Drivers who are convicted of an offense before October 1, 2012, must still pay the driver responsibility fees on these offenses.

Here is a list of the fees to be eliminated:

The $150 fee, charged for two consecutive years, for;

-Operating a motor vehicle with an expired operator’s or chauffeur’s license

-Operating without a valid license

-Having more than one license

-Failing to surrender licenses from other states

The $200 fee, charged for two consecutive years, for;

-Failing to have mandatory motor vehicle insurance coverage

-Failing to produce proof of insurance

-Knowingly providing false evidence of insurance

Contact ArborYpsi Law at 734-883-9584 or at bernstein@arborypsilaw.com to speak with attorney Sam Bernstein.

Legal Disclaimer